Camilo Barcenas, MD, FACP

Camilo Barcenas, MD, FACP

Founder and president of Renal Specialists of Houston (1975), Dr. Camilo Barcenas received his fellowship in nephrology from the University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas. He served for many years as Chief of Nephrology and Medical Director of Renal Transplantation at the Texas Heart Institute at St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital, where he worked closely with Dr. Denton Cooley in the groundbreaking management of patients with combined heart and renal disease.

Dr. Barcenas is a visionary. He was one of the first to see the need for renal care outside of the Houston Medical Center, especially in underserved and tragically ignored regions of the city. Because of him, our practice serves a large and growing number of communities. Fluent in Spanish, Dr. Barcenas takes a leadership role in the management of Fresenius dialysis patients and serves as medical director of Sunnyside Dialysis Center and Southeast Kidney Center.


  • Renal Specialists of Houston, 1975 – current
  • Clinical Professor, Internal Medicine 1995 – 2009, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Chief, Nephrology Section 1976 – 2009 Department of Medicine St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital Houston TX
  • Medical Director, Renal Transplantation 1983 - 2009 Texas Heart Institute at St Luke’s Episcopal Hospital Houston TX
  • Chief, Hemodialysis Unit 1975, Veterans Administration Hospital Dallas TX
  • Chief, Home Dialysis Training Unit July 1974 Veterans Administration Hospital Dallas, Texas


  • University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas, 1972 - 1974


  • Baylor College of Medicine, Houston TX 1970 – 1972
  • Internship Mount Sinai Hospital University of Connecticut, 1969
  • Rotating Internship Managua General Hospital, Nicaragua 1967 - 1968


  • University of Nicaragua


  • Diplomate, American Board of Internal Medicine
  • Diplomate, American Board of Internal Medicine in Nephrology
  • Fellow, American College of Physicians



  • End-stage Renal Disease
  • Renal Replacement Therapies


  • American Top Doctors, 2003 – 2006
  • Houston Top Doctors, Nephrology, 2006
  • Outstanding Clinical Faculty, Baylor College of Medicine 1993 - 2000